Entering Politics: Journalists on Electoral Lists

Gagik Aghbalyan

As in previous elections , among the candidates offered by political parties and blocs in the upcoming April 2 parliamentary elections are current and former journalists.

In the Free Democrats’ national list are two journalists: the party’s former and current spokespersons. Angela Khachatryan has been with the newspaper Zhamanak and the news site 1in.am since their founding. Sona Minasyan worked at the newspaper Yerkir and Shant TV.

ELQ bloc’s national list includes former chief editor of Haykakan Zhamanak (Armenian Times) Nikol Pashinyan; former journalist of the same paper Vahagn Hovakimyan; former Hetq journalist Lena Nazaryan; Araratnews.am and Ararat editor Alen Simonyan; Disabilityinfo.am founder and editor Zaruhi Batoyan; novelist and former journalist of daily paper Hraparak Hambardzum Hambardzumyan; and former journalist with Shant and Yerkir Media TV stations Srbuhi Grigoryan.

The election bloc led by Gagik Tsarukyan’s Prosperous Armenia party proportional list includes former Haykakan Zhamanak (Armenian Times) journalist Naira Zohrabyan, and former Kentron TV journalist and Tsarukyan’s spokesperson Iveta Tonoyan.

On the Tsarukyan bloc’s national list are also former chief editor of Lurer.com, and founder of several sites and of newspaper Past (Fact) Varuzhan Babajanyan.

The Armenian National Congress–People’s Party of Armenia bloc’s list includes former Chorrord Ishkhanutyun newspaper journalist and photojournalist Ani Gevorgyan, as well as journalist and scriptwriter Tigran Paskevichyan.

The Armenian Renaissance party’s national list includes former journalists Mher Shahgeldyan and Artur Baghdasaryan, as well as creator and host of the H3 TV political program “Irakan Hayatsq” (Real Look) Edgar Araqelyan.

The Armenian Revolutionary Federation (Dashnaktsutyun) list includes former chief editor of newspaper Yerkir Aghvan Vardanyan, former director of the Public Radio program “Kamurj” (Bridge) Ruzan Araqelyan, and Yerkir Media TV journalist Lilit Manukyan.

The ARF list also offers as MP candidates former chief editor of the official newspaper of the ARF Supreme Council of Armenia Yerkir Spartak Seyranyan, and correspondent of the ARF’s official newspapers and publications in the 90s Artyusha Shahbazyan.

Number five on the Republican Party of Armenia (HHK) proportional list is culture minister Armen Amiryan, formerly one of the most popular figures of Armenian television. He hosted youth, news, political, musical, and entertainment programs on Armenian state television. From 1997 to 2015, he was the executive director of the Public Radio of Armenia.

For the second time, former Aravot newspaper journalist Margarit Yesayan’s name has made it to the HHK list.

Former director of the Public TV’s news department Samvel Farmanyan likewise may once again appear in the next parliament. He is #9 on the HHK proportional list.

After launching and hosting the political program “Yerankyuni” (Triangle) on Public TV, former education minister Armen Ashotyan, who is #6 on his party’s proportional list, likewise obtained the right to be on our list of journalists.

Among the HHK ranks is also former journalist with Armenpress agency Shushan Sardaryan.

HHK offers also former editor of newspaper Iravunq Hayk Babukhanyan and Public Radio of Armenia Executive Director Arman Saghatelyan’s candidacy.

The Ohanian-Raffi-Oskanian election bloc’s national list includes 7or.am journalist Aregnaz Manukyan.

Only the Armen­ian Communist Party national list has no journalists.

Gagik Aghbalyan

P.S. Our list may be incomplete. Please feel free to complete it, if necessary, by leaving a comment below.

Add new comment

Comments by Media.am readers become public after moderation. We urge our readers not to leave anonymous comments. It’s always nice to know with whom one is speaking.

We do not publish comments that contain profanities, non-normative lexicon, personal attacks or threats. We do not publish comments that spread hate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *