Gegham Manukyan Receives Time for Media Freedom Award

Sona Kocharyan


Yerkir Media TV’s  Director of News and Political Programs Gegham Manukyan was the winner of this year’s Time for Media Freedom award.

Manukyan won the award for his vigorous coverage of Armenian Genocide 100th anniversary events and his ability to combine enthusiasm with a human focus in journalism.  

The Time for Media Freedom award is dedicated to World Press Freedom Day marked on May 3. The award — a certificate and a traditional souvenir clock — was established and is distributed annually by the Yerevan Press Club, the Media Initiatives Center (formerly, Internews Media Support NGO), and the Union of Journalists of Armenia. 

The Time for Media Freedom Award has been handed out since 2006.

There are no nominations. In selecting the award recipient, organizers take into account the trends and unique features of the news media sector that year, as well as journalists’ contribution to freedom of the press.

Previous award winners include media expert Mesrop Harutyunyan, Les Nouvelles d’Armenie correspondent Seda Mavyan, Aravot.am editor-in-chief Anna Israelyan, Investigative Journalists NGO president and Hetq.am editor-in-chief Edik Baghdasaryan, chair of Gyumri’s Asparez Journalists’ Club Levon Barseghyan, publicist Tigran Paskevichyan, and editor-in-chief of Aravot newspaper Aram Abrahamyan. 

Sona Kocharyan

Add new comment

Comments by Media.am readers become public after moderation. We urge our readers not to leave anonymous comments. It’s always nice to know with whom one is speaking.

We do not publish comments that contain profanities, non-normative lexicon, personal attacks or threats. We do not publish comments that spread hate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *