Armenian State Broadcaster to Soon Acquire New Board Member, Then Also a Chairperson

Public TV and Radio Company of Armenia Chair Alexan Harutyunyan’s term expired on Feb. 1, and since he no longer has the right to run for this position again, a call for applications was announced with the aim of filling the empty seat. 

On Feb. 7, the open call was published in the Hayastani Hanrapetutyun daily newspaper. As stipulated by law, the news allowed potential contenders to submit their applications within 10 days. 

The official website of the President of Armenia has issued a statement that two individuals put forth their board member applications:

Ruben Vladimir Jaghinyan (born: 1969)
Astghik Shams Avetisyan (born: 1977)

The Law on TV and Radio (Chapter 4, Article 29) stipulates the next steps as follows: The President of the Republic of Armenia, according to the approved application procedure, appoints one of the winners of the competition as a board member. News about this will be published in the mass media.

Afterwards, the full board of directors will elect a new chairperson from its 5 members.

Currently, the acting chairperson is Stepan Zakaryan. The remaining board members are Nara Shlepchyan, Meruzhan Ter-Gulanyan, and Sargis Muradkhanyan. 

Add new comment

Comments by Media.am readers become public after moderation. We urge our readers not to leave anonymous comments. It’s always nice to know with whom one is speaking.

We do not publish comments that contain profanities, non-normative lexicon, personal attacks or threats. We do not publish comments that spread hate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *